Sumner County Commissioner Minutes: August 3 and August 4, 2020

Sumner Newscow report — The following is the Sumner County Commissioner meeting minutes for August 3 and 4.

August 3, 2020 – 9 a.m.

The Board of County Commissioners met in regular session in the Commission room of the Sumner County Courthouse.  Those present were Chairman John Cooney, Commissioner Steve Warner and Commissioner Jim Newell.  Also present was County Clerk Debra A. Norris, 80th House Representative Bill Rhiley and Rose Mary Sanders, Ranson Financial. The meeting was opened with the Pledge of Allegiance.

The Commission reviewed and unanimously approved the minutes of July 27 and 28. 

Rose Mary Saunders, Senior Consultant for Ranson Financial provided updates on the COVID-CV grant awarded to Sumner County.  County Treasurer Dannetta Cook and Economic Development Director Stacy Davis were also present.  The funds, $138,600, will be used to help businesses in Sumner County affected by COVID-19, retain jobs for low-to-moderate-income employees, and to help businesses who are struggling to reopen due to the pandemic.  After review and discussion, Chairman Cooney, Clerk Norris and Treasurer Cook were authorized to sign the paperwork for Grant No. 20CV-119.

County Counselor Jack Potucek provided general reviews and updates.

County Appraiser Cindy Magill provided the 2021 agricultural land questionnaire that was mailed over the weekend.  Discussion included the history and need of the questionnaire.  Appraiser Magill advised the office phones are ringing, questioning the process.  She also provided departmental updates.

The Commission reviewed and approved revised payables in the amount of  $296,194.02, an additional $36,000 due to data entry error.

The Commission reviewed and unanimously approved current year abatement orders in the amount of $1,245.34.  Prior year abatements were also approved in the amount of $3,843.54

There being no further business, the Board of County Commissioners adjourned at 10:44 a.m.


August 4, 2020

The Board of County Commissioners did not meet in observance of Election Day.

Follow us on Facebook.

Follow us on Twitter.

Powered by WordPress