Daily Archives: June 4, 2024

WHS Scholarship signing roundup: Zeka, Kessler, Walker, Dry, Smith, Cornejo, Baker, Fairbanks, Bevan, Saunders, Worley, Hunt

By Tracy McCue, Sumner Newscow — The official signings of athletes and fine arts students to college scholarships have been a ritual that has grown in popularity. Wellington had 12 of them over the past six months.

Crusader logo for article.This year, we decided to do something different, putting all the signings in one montage, much like we do academic scholarships. Those Wellington High School seniors who have signed on to either play a sport, cheerlead, or participate in choir and/or fine arts were: Whitney Zeka, Katelyn Kessler, Conner Walker, Maggie Dry, Olivia Smith, Kyra Cornejo, Madison Baker, Anika Fairbanks, Beegan Bevan, Savannah Saunders, Hunter Worley and Aubrey Hunt.

We have collected pictures of them performing and signing. Special thanks to Katie Ford and the Crusader Yearbook staff for the signing pictures and a few of the action pictures.


Whitney Zeka at the homecoming parade last fall.

Whitney Zeka, the daughter of Blaine and Mary Zeka, has signed a scholarship to cheerlead at Trinity Valley Community College in Athens, Texas.

Zeka will be majoring in business communications. Trinity Valley has won 13 national titles in cheerleading and a Netflix show called “Cheer.”

Bliss Baird, M.D., Wellington native, receives coveted Lawrence E. Lamb Prize

Bliss Baird, middle, is show with fellow student Sofia de la O Bahr, M.D., holding their Lawrence E. Lamb Prize plaques alongside Samuel Ofei-Dodoo, Ph.D., assistant dean for undergradute medical education; Laura Tatpati, M.D., associate dean for undergraduate medical education; and Garold Minns, M.D., dean of KU School of Medicine-Wichita. (Courtesy photo)

Bliss Baird

Sumner Newscow report — Two recent graduates of the University of Kansas School of Medicine-Wichita have earned the Lawrence E. Lamb Prize, one of the most prestigious prizes awarded by KU School of Medicine.

Bliss Baird, M.D., the daughter of Rob and Lisa Baird of Wellington, earned the Lawrence E. Lamb Prize for Medical Teaching, and Sofia de la O Bahr, M.D., earned the Lawrence E. Lamb Prize for Medical Practice. The annual recognition celebrates three top graduating medical students at KU and memorializes KU alumnus Larry Lamb, M.D.

Baird said she was honored to receive the prize from the institution that shaped her passion for medical education.

“I started KU School of Medicine with a mere inkling of interest in teaching, and the inspiring faculty and myriad of opportunities cultivated growth I could not have imagined four years ago,” she said. “I am beyond grateful for the innumerable ways KU has invested in my ability to serve others as a medical educator, and the Lamb Prize is such an incredible conclusion to my medical school journey.”

Sumner Newscow weekly poll: Do you believe the verdict was justified?







Do you believe the guilty verdict in falsifying business records case against Trump was correct?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Wellington Police Notes: Monday, June 3, 2024

Wellington Police notes: Monday, June 3, 2024

Powered by WordPress